Step 1: Completing the Seller of Travel Registration Application Form
If you operate as a travel agent under a travel agency or business and require a seller of travel license, you will need to complete the Sellers of Travel Registration Application (FDACS-10200). Independent travel agents, on the other hand, must complete the Sellers of Travel Independent Sales Agents Application (FDACS-10211).
There is a possibility of exemption from registration if you have been contracted with the Airlines Reporting Commission (ARC) for three years or more under the same ownership and control. However, you must obtain a statement of exemption issued by the FDAC to become licensed. For those offering vacation certificates, a minimum of five years of contracted work with the ARC under the same ownership is required.
Step 2: Providing Additional Required Paperwork
If you or your travel agency offer vacation certificates, you will need to complete the following:
- Submit all 16 documents listed under the 2022 Florida statutes chapter 559.9295. In case of any changes to these documents, they must be resubmitted for approval.
- Provide a copy of the vacation certificate disclosure contract listed in compliance with the 2022 Florida statutes chapter 559.932.
- Pay an additional $100 fee.
For those operating as Student Tour Operators and offering tour-related services to or within an educational community, additional requirements must be fulfilled, including:
- Completion of the student tour operator registration form.
- Proof of travel agent registration.
- General liability insurance coverage of at least $1,000,000.
- Professional liability insurance coverage of at least $1,000,000.
- Workers compensation coverage of at least $500,000, along with proof of exemption for fewer than four employees.
- Maintenance of a current level 2 security clearance.
Step 3: Determining Your Required Surety Bond Amount
The Florida Department of Agricultural and Consumer Services mandates the filing of a seller of travel surety bond as part of the licensing process. The bond amount is based on your provision of vacation certificates and your annual gross sales. The following bond amounts are required:
- $10,000 for new businesses, new ownership, or same ownership for at least a year with less than $500,000 in gross sales.
- $15,000 for businesses with the same ownership for at least a year and gross sales between $500,000 and $1,000,000, without issuing vacation certificates.
- $20,000 for businesses with the same ownership for at least a year and gross sales between $1,000,000 and $2,000,000, without issuing vacation certificates.
- $25,000 for businesses without issuing vacation certificates and not qualifying for a lower bond amount.
- $50,000 for businesses offering vacation certificates.
Step 4: Purchasing your Florida Seller of Travel Surety Bond
Once you have determined the required bond amount, you can apply for your Florida seller of travel bond online 24/7. The pricing of these bonds will be determined after a quick application review.
The costs for seller of travel bonds are as follows:
- $10,000 bond costs start at $100 annually.
- $15,000 bond costs start at $150 annually.
- $20,000 bond costs start at $200 annually.
- $25,000 bond costs start at $250 annually.
- $50,000 bond costs start at $500 annually.
Remember to sign your bond as the principal in the presence of a witness for FDACS filing approval.
For more information, visit DHPL Travels to plan your next adventure. Safe travels!